Gov. Beshear: D-SNAP benefits approved for flood-damaged Kentucky counties

On Monday, Kentucky Governor

Andy Beshear announced disaster food benefits are now approved for people living and/or working in 12 Eastern Kentucky counties that suffered damage from the recent floodwaters.

In July, President Joe Biden issued a major disaster declaration in Whitley, Breathitt, Clay, Floyd, Knott, Leslie, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, Owsley, Perry, and Pike counties which cleared the way for Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (D-SNAP) benefits.

Beshear’s office stated, in a release, that applications for D-SNAP may be submitted starting on Wednesday, Aug. 24.

“The Eastern Kentucky families impacted by the devastating flooding have lost everything, and these additional benefits are essential to helping these Kentuckians recover and rebuild,” Gov. Beshear said. “This will be a long road to recovery, but we will be here for our people in the weeks, months and years ahead. We are in this together.”

Applicants should call the Department for Community Based Services (DCBS) for D-SNAP at 833-371-8570, which is reportedly the fastest way to receive benefits.

Applications will also be taken by phone from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday to Friday and on Saturdays from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. (EST).

For additional information, visit

Samantha Walden, Staff Writer at The Kentucky Daily

You've successfully subscribed to The Kentucky Daily
Great! Next, complete checkout for full access to The Kentucky Daily
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.
Unable to sign you in. Please try again.
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.
Error! Stripe checkout failed.
Success! Your billing info is updated.
Error! Billing info update failed.